Hairloss & Selecting Your Wig

TIP 1 : GET YOUR HAIR CUT SHORT – DON’T WAIT!

When I was told I was going to have Chemo it was a cold hard fact that I would lose
my hair and at first I wasn’t too bothered. It was inevitable but I knew that having
the Chemo was vital. From the outset I decided that once I’d had my first session
I would cut my hair and donate it to The Little Princess Trust. I’ve heard many stories
of young girls leaving their hair for as long as possible, desperately clinging on to
what is left of ‘pre-cancer’ life. This however can end up looking very obvious, as hair
falls out in random clumps, thinning at first, then the bald patches appear. For me, hair
began to fall out around 10 days after my first day of treatment. I feel my hair didn’t
look too bad at first mainly because I had had a pixie cut. It is a horrid sight seeing hair
on your pillow in the morning, but this would have been worse if I had kept the length of my hair.

Having your hair cut is also a chance to try a style you would never usually try. I had always worn my hair long so a pixie cut was a drastic change which I actually enjoyed. It’s also
a way of taking control of your Cancer and not letting it rule you. This I found very important as choosing to cut my hair short felt like I was making a decision in a world which I don’t seem to have much choice in.

13

Also… fun fact – Some of my hair has remained on my head, all of which are red. However, this I am working up to shaving off as I currently look like Gollum underneath my turban and I can’t imagine it looking great when my hair does start to grow through again.

TIP 2 : BUY SOME TURBANS/HATS

Loosing your hair means its very cold all of a sudden!! Hats are necessary, but don’t have to look old fashioned or what I’d call ‘typical cancer’ styled. As a young person I found it difficult to find a ‘chemo cap’ which didn’t look like what the older women going through chemo typically wears.
I opted for a turban style hat, think Norma Desmond or a 1940s Hollywood actress. I found mine on Amazon for as little as £2.00!! There is also a huge choice of colours and patterns so you can buy a few to go with various outfits. To start off I recommend black and a patterned turban. I also recommend buying a soft beanie type hat to wear in bed. I found I was incredibly cold at night with no hair and my ‘bed hat’ helped tremendously!!

TIP 3 : CHOOSING YOUR WIG

As a young person (Under 25) I come under the Teenage and Young Adult Cancer Care unit, this meant that I was able to use The Princess Trust who supplied me with a real hair wig of my choice. I made sure that I went to the salon whilst I still had hair so that they could match my colour and if desired the original style too. I was invited to a local salon whom supply wigs and they specially colourmatched my hair and I chose a long style wig which they also cut my ‘token’ full fringe into. I have received many compliments on my wig
with many people not realising that it is a wig until I point it out.

I have however found that I have not worn my wig as often as I first expected to, choosing to wear my turbans; unless doing something particularly exciting which becomes a rarity whilst on chemo. My wig does seem to dig in to my temples a little which can induce headaches and can be a little itchy but as my Great Grandma used to say “Pride must abide”. Wigs are great when you want to feel like ‘your old self’; if your going out for a meal or meeting with friends, it can help with confidence tremendously.

 

 

 

Failing that….. opt for silliness….  🙂

 

 

 

img_7355

Leave a Reply

